This article will deal about three tombs discovered in Mellieħa during the late 19 th and early 20 th centuries. Although the archaeological reports that were made in that period stated that these tombs were discovered at Mellieħa, they did not say where exactly they were found. Therefore, I felt that it was better to write something about them in one article

First tomb
Before the 1890s, a Phoenician rock-cut tomb was found on the hill right of the parish church. Archaeologist A.A. Caruana stated that tombs were located in this

area, which consisted of one cluster, or catacombs. He said that the tombs had several chamber with arched entrances arranged over three stories. Unfortunately the exact place of the site was not indicated in the report, so today no one exactly where it was this tomb.1

Second tomb
In 1912 another Phoenician rock-cut tomb was discovered at Mellieħa, but the place was not indicated. It seems that the tomb was destroyed because there were no dimensions of the tomb and only a complete report of the artefacts found was done. A variety of artefacts were found in this tomb. These included a cinerary urn of unique shape for Malta and it is wide, have tall neck with handles from rim to shoulder. Another artefact is a globular round-mouth jug, apparently red-slipped and burnished. Unfortunately the lip was broken when it was recovered.2

The third object recovered was a two trefoil-mouth, piriform jugs. Another item was a hemispherical bowl, which apparently is thin-walled and red-slipped and burnished. The fifth artefact is a bowl with everted wide rim and possibly red-slipped interior. The sixth item is a small open pot with low-slung handle, a knob on opposite shoulder and rim which is low and slightly low. Another item is a single-spouted lamp and the last one is a small plate.

It seems that the tomb was cut between 1000 to 600 BC, because the pottery artefacts came from this period of Phoenician colonisation of the Maltese islands.3

Third tomb
The third and last Phoenician rock-cut tomb to be found in Mellieħa, exactly on the eastern cliffs facing the village, was discovered 9 March 1929, when workers accidentally broke into a grave. It was immediately reported to the Mellieħa Police and the latter informed immediately the Museums Department. When the archaeologists arrived on the site they found that the tomb was practically destroyed. It was found that no shaft could be made out, part of the burial chamber was also destroyed and the rock was so friable that was hardly distinguishable from the surrounding dry soil.4

The entrance to the burial chamber was 1.2 metres high and 1.1 metres wide. The chamber had an oval plan but partly decayed and probably had a measurement of 1.2 metres height, 1.2 metres wide and a length of 3 metres. A water amphora measured 0.6 metres with tapering base and two handles on shoulders, one conical jar with flat base measured 0.3 metres, and two plates with a diameter of 0.15 metres were recovered. Apart from these artefacts the broken bones of a skeleton of an adult were recovered.

Again it seems that this tomb was cut between 1000 to 600 BC, but this time this theory is based mainly on the oval shape of the chamber.5

References:
1 Claudia Sagona, Ancient and Eastern Studies: The archaeology of Punic Malta, Peetars, Belgium, 2002, p 853.
2. Ibid.

3. Ibid.
4. Government of Malta, ‘Archaeological Section’, Museum Annual Report 1928-29.
5. Sagona, p 853.

 

 

Researched and Written by: Charles Debono B.A.(Hons) History

Shopping Basket
Mellieha Local Council

21 521333

The Parish Priest

21 523449

Mellieha Clinic

21 522316

Police - Mellieha

21 523457

Police - Qawra

21 571174 - 21 576737

Waterworks - Qawra

21 573507 - 21 583859

Maria Bambina Primary School

21 523527

Get visibility on our site

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Libero a pellentesque nisi, aliquet quam montes. Facilisi massa gravida hendrerit est eget.

    About the village of Mellieha

    Mellieha is a rural village and tourist resort in the Northwestern part of Malta and derives its name from the Semitic root 'm-l-h' which in Arabic means salt. The name was probably derived from the ancient Punic and Roman salt-terns; historians indicated as lying adjacent to the large sandy bay at the foot of the village.
    Mellieha has been inhabited since early Neolithic times (3000 B.C). Several megalithic remains and tombs of this era and other primitive tools and fragments of pottery were found in various localities around this area, primarily at "il-Latnija" - a natural cavity used by several stone-age peoples - and at l-Gholja tax-Xemxija.
    During the Roman and Byzantine occupations (213B.C- 870A.D.), Mellieha's valleys were inhabited by troglodytes, who irrigated the land, adopted natural caves as their dwelling places and buried their beloved ones in Punic style burial chambers. Following the Arab conquest and during the medieval period (870-1530A.D.), the area was deserted, primarily due to the continuous raids of the Muslim corsairs.
    Notwithstanding the hardship experienced by the Maltese during the Reign of the Order of St. John (1530-1798A.D.), Mellieha's medieval chapel, dedicated to the Holy Virgin Mary, was one of the most venerated places on the island. Several distinguished persons, such as grandmaster's, kings and bishops visited the shrine and pilgrimages to the sanctuary from all over the island were held frequently.
    In the late 17th century, the Knights built several fortifications along the coast, so as to protect the inhabitants. This venture brought about the gradual repopulating of the area, mainly by those who wanted to exploit the fertile valleys and the new enterprise of tunny net fishing. Under the British, in 1844, Mellieha was established again as a parish and since then it grew up into a modern town, of circa 6,500 people.
    Today, Mellieha is one of Malta's most picturesque tourist destinations. The town centre boasts of its splendid hotels, fine restaurants and traditional cute shops. It has a unique primary school, a majestic baroque church (built in late 19th century) and various cultural organizations, including band clubs, sports clubs, an orchestra, various religious societies, a parish community centre and an environmental pressure group. Since 1993, local affairs are being run by the Mellieha Local Council, an institution made up of seven councilors, elected every three years by the people.
    Mellieha's main festive season occurs in the first two weeks of September and reaches its climax on the 8th September. During these days various cultural manifestations are held, such as musical concerts, fireworks, folk singing, art exhibitions and the traditional religious procession. The town's people, ''Il-Mellehin'', are renowned for their laborious nature, their ironic sense of humour, and their friendliness and hospitality. Those who visit us, no matter where they hail from, do not merely enjoy themselves but feel at home.

    As long as Mellieha preserves its great archaeological and historic heritage, its unique natural environment, and its traditions and costumes, its people, "Il-Mellehin", can look forward to a bright future.